Bank Of America phishing scam

by Yonko on March 12, 2009

Hello again,

Yonko here. Here is another classic scam, this one looks even more legitimate than the PayPal scam. Very elaborate I would say. Yet, it remains a scam. A huge Thank you goes out to Sheri Arispe for forwarding that email to me. Here’s a picture of the email:

Bank Of America Phishing Scam

Bank Of America Phishing Scam

Moreover the Subject Line of the email stated: Your Bank of America account may have been accessed from an unauthorized computer! Also the email is obscured under Bank Of America, whereas it actually is coming from ixm...@accounts.net. Hm, Bank of America email address???? Not!

Pretty convincing, yes? And it is, however, upon scrutiny the actual website that the link in the email will take you to is:

http://24-171-24-196.dhcp.stls.mo.charter.com/online (DO NOT FOLLOW), which eventually terminates into http://96.38.230.38/member/ (DO NOT FOLLOW). And that particular address…? What do we find out about it is that it has been reported as a malicious one. How do I know? I use Firefox and it stopped my attempts to open the website by displaying this picture:

Firefox saved the day from web forgery

Firefox saved the day from web forgery

So, please, please, please always check where a link would take you before clicking on it.

Thanks,

Yonko

www.HomeOfficeTechSupport.com

{ 4 comments… read them below or add one }

Liliya Kapilevich March 12, 2009 at 22:43

Hi Yonko,
Can you explain how to “check where a link would take you before clicking on it.”
Thank you!

Yonko March 13, 2009 at 01:00

Yes, I will post a video soon. Generally, you would simply place the mouse cursor over the link, without clicking on it and in the bottom left corner of your screen (above the Start button) you will see where the link would take you. If you can’t see it, go to View on Internet Explorer and click on Status Bar. Then repeat.

Yonko
http://www.HomeOfficeTechSupport.com

Sharen Stegall December 14, 2010 at 11:14

I get an umemployment check thru a Bank of America Debit Card. I received an e-mail this morning saying my Card had been cancelled because someone tried to access it. Then it says to open a file. Then it says to click to another line and it says to change my online name and ID. I called you and you said it was fake. I believe that someone has a list of people who are receiving unemployment. I don’t have a bank account with you except for my Unemployment Debit Card. I feel that someone has a list of people receiving unemployment on Debit Cards through your bank. Sharen Stegall

Yonko December 14, 2010 at 12:56

Hi Sharen,

You have definitely not called me. I neither work in a bank nor have any affiliations with Bank of America or any other bank. This is just a blog that I post stuff that Keller Williams agents send me to check. I have removed your contact data from your post to hide your identity.

In all email correspondence always be extra careful what links you click on. Use a good internet browser like Firefox or Chrome. They would normally have a feature to check website for known malicious attacks and, just like in the post above, would display a warning message and prompt you to stop.

Take care Sharen.

Leave a Comment