<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Home Office Tech Support &#187; PayPal Email Scam</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.homeofficetechsupport.com/tag/paypal-email-scam/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.homeofficetechsupport.com/blog.php</link>
	<description>Helping ordinary people...</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 20 Dec 2011 19:23:53 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>PayPal Phishing Email</title>
		<link>http://www.homeofficetechsupport.com/blog.php/2009/03/12/paypal-phishing-email/</link>
		<comments>http://www.homeofficetechsupport.com/blog.php/2009/03/12/paypal-phishing-email/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 12 Mar 2009 13:52:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Yonko</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Posts]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SPAM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PayPal Email Scam]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PayPal scams]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[phishing emails]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.homeofficetechsupport.com/?p=87</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Hello again people, Yonko here. Just had this pop up in my mailbox today, a second time in two days. Classic spam/phishing email. In essence it looks very legitimate, unfortunately it&#8217;s not. Here&#8217;s the email: Subject was:  PayPal Notification, and the sender was covered to look like Support. Dear PayPal Member, We recently have determined [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>Hello again people,</p>
<p>Yonko here. Just had this pop up in my mailbox today, a <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>second</strong></span> time in two days. Classic spam/phishing email. In essence it looks very legitimate, unfortunately it&#8217;s not. Here&#8217;s the email:</p>
<p>Subject was:  <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>PayPal Notification</strong></span>, and the sender was covered to look like <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>Support</strong></span>.</p>
<p><span style="font-family: Arial; font-size: small;"> Dear PayPal Member,</span></p>
<p>We recently have determined that different computers have logged onto<br />
your PayPal account, and multiple password failures were present before<br />
the logins. We now need you to re-confirm your account information to us.<br />
If this is not completed by March 11, 2009, we will be forced to suspend<br />
your account indefinitely, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes.<br />
We thank you for your cooperation in this manner. To confirm your Account<br />
records click on the following link:</p>
<p>http://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-submit&#038;dispatch=588</p>
<p>Thank you for your patience in this matter.<br />
PayPal Customer Service.<br />
<strong>Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification.</strong></p>
<p>1999-2009 PayPal. All rights reserved.</p>
<p>=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-<br />
Scanned with <a href="http://www.copfilter.org/">Copfilter</a> Version 0.84beta3a (<a href="http://memberwebs.com/nielsen/software/proxsmtp">ProxSMTP</a> 1.6)<br />
AntiVirus: <a href="http://www.clamav.net/">ClamAV</a> 0.91.2/9095 &#8211; Wed Mar 11 17:20:07 2009<br />
by Markus Madlener @ <a href="http://www.copfilter.org/">http://www.copfilter.org</a></p>
<p>Sure looks relatively okay. Trust me it&#8217;s not. The address that this link points you to is:</p>
<p><span style="color: #0000ff;">http://211.147.211.100:8085/webscr/webscr/login.htm?cmd=_login-run?CMD=Login</span></p>
<p>Here are the flags:</p>
<p>1. PayPal does not send messages like this.</p>
<p>2. PayPal always works with secure websites. The Link does not start with http<span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>S</strong></span>:// but with http:// which means it is not secure. It does not point to the PayPal website. It points to some unknown server &#8211; 211.147.211.100.</p>
<p>3. For those of you that were present in my Security, Firewalls and Anti-Virus/Spyware class you know that a link may appear to be legitimate but you need simply place you mouse over it to see where it would take you. In this case, somewhere to a server in China, downloading who knows what.</p>
<p>Stay away from messages like this one. No bank or financial institution would just &#8220;lose&#8221; your information, they make money off of you so it is in their <span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>BEST</strong></span> interest to keep that information safe and secure even from yourself.</p>
<p>Your helping hand in trying times,</p>
<p>Yonko</p>
<p><a title="Helping ordinary people..." href="http://www.homeofficetechsupport.com" target="_blank">www.HomeOfficeTechSupport.com</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.homeofficetechsupport.com/blog.php/2009/03/12/paypal-phishing-email/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

